Reno's lies at the RCOI

Publié le par custerwest

Inspired by a love of history and its amazing accounts of human endeavor, model making and dramatic representations of the people, places and things that have shaped our culture.

This court was the only official inquiry on the Little Bighorn
RENO'S LIES AT THE RENO COURT OF INQUIRY

155reno.jpg

These are extracts from Reno’s official report (which is like a testimony under oath in the military) and his testimony under oath at the Court of Inquiry in 1879. Please remark the huge differences.

 

#1

 1876 : [On Reno Hill,] we heard firing in that direction [Medicine Tail Ford] and knew it could only be Custer.

 

1879 : I do not remember anyone reporting to me that he heard firing. I heard no such firing.

 

___

 #2

 

1876 : In a short time, the pack train came up.

 

1879 : In about an hour and a half, the pack train would come up.

 

___

 #3

 

1876 : Custer intended to support me by moving further down the stream and attacking the village in the flank.

 

1879 : I had no reason to believe that General Custer would support me in other manner than from the rear […] Custer had no plan.

 

____

 #4

 

1876 : [On Reno Hill,] we heard firing in that direction [Medicine Tail Ford] and knew it could only be Custer.

 

1879 : I believe that when I came out of the timber, Custer’s command was all dead

 _

 #5

 

1876 : We heard firing in that direction and knew it could only be Custer.

 

1879 : It didn’t occur to me that Custer with 225 men needed anyone quickly

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article